13 Students Receive Travel Stipends to Present at Conferences

This week Forest's Student Travel Award Program handed down stipends for students who will be traveling to present at conferences.

Since the program started in 2006, more than 47,000 dollars has been awarded to 173 students in support of their research projects.

"I am really grateful to receive a travel grant from Forest because it makes traveling to multiple conference much more feasible. Forest shows its support of its students and the research they are doing by helping defray the costs of travel and conference presentations," said Kate Higgins who will present at the APA and Association of Applied Sports Psychology conferences.

"Receiving a travel stipend removes some of the financial stress from my family while allowing for me to pursue scholarly activities. Being lucky enough to receive such an award assists me in developing professional contacts, bolstering my CV, and disseminating my research and ideas. Thank you Forest," said Gage Stermensky who will present at the Mental Health in Corrections Conference.

The next application deadline is August 15th for students wishing to receive funding for the October to December cycle.

To submit an application or to learn more about the program email Marcie Kirkup or call her at 417-823-3401

Below is a list of those who received awards for the Summer 2011 cycle.

American Academy of Clinical Neuropsychology
  • Rachel Fazio
  • Summer Rolin
  • Katie Dunham
  • Dr. Robert Denney (Faculty Sponsor)
Second North American Correctional and Criminal Justice Psychology Conference
  • Shannon Griswold
  • Christine Biddle
  • Adam Savage
  • Dr. Brad Powers (Faculty Sponsor)
16th Annual Conference Advancing School Mental Health
  • Tessa Mak
  • Dr. Glenna Weis (Faculty Sponsor)
American Psychological Association
  • Kate Higgins
  • Dr. David Mrad (Faculty Sponsor)
Association of Applied Sports Psychology
  • Kate Higgins
  • Dr. Gahan Fallone (Faculty Sponsor)
Missouri Association of Marriage and Family Therapy
  • Lindsey Colburn
  • Jason Malousek
  • Dr. Krstina Brown (Faculty Sponsor)
Mental Health in Corrections Conference
  • Gage Stermensky
  • Jacob Chavez
  • Dr. Brad Powers (Faculty Sponsor)